›› Home ›› Education

Ennes Educational Foundation Trust™

Ennes logoThe Harold Ennes Scholarship Fund Trust was initiated by Indianapolis Chapter 25 in 1980 in memory of Harold E. Ennes, author of many textbooks for broadcast and broadcast-related communications training and a member of the Indianapolis chapter. Ennes (pronounced "ENN-ess") was a member of the SBE's national Certification Committee and made many contributions to the early development of the Certification Program.

To encourage greater growth, the Scholarship Trust was transferred by Chapter 25 to the SBE national organization to administer in 1981.

Over the years, the purposes of the Trust were expanded. In addition to granting scholarships, the Trust now is involved with the funding and presentation of broadcast engineering-related educational programs, seminars and workshops. It also helps to underwrite costs associated with publishing technical books and manuals.

The name of the Trust was changed in 1995 to the "Harold Ennes Educational Foundation Trust™" to fully embrace its expanded role. Some of the goals of the Trust are to encourage the entry of minorities and women into broadcast technical fields, to evaluate technical training courses and to act as a liaison with similar international organizations to develop and enhance common technical training courses.

Each year, the Ennes Educational Foundation Trust offers scholarships to deserving candidates who aspire to a career in the technical aspects of broadcasting. More information on the scholarships. Donations to the scholarship fund can be sent to the SBE National Office.


Three trustees and two committees are appointed by the Society of Broadcast Engineers Board of Directors and are responsible for the operation of the Ennes Educational Foundation Trust.


  • Douglas W. Garlinger, CPBE, CBNT - Fishers, IN
  • Tony Peterle, CPBE - Miami, FL
  • Dale Scherbring, CPBE - Timonium, MD

Scholarship Committee

  • Ronald L. Arendall, CPBE - Cincinnati, OH
  • Edwin T. Karl, CPBE - Warrenton, MO
  • Michael Scott, CPBE - Puyallup, WA

Educational Foundation Committee

  • Jack E. McKain, CPBE - Kansas City, MO - Chairman
  • Barry Thomas, CPBE, CBNT - Denver, CO
  • Richard A. Rudman, CPBE - Los Angeles, CA
  • Ralph Hogan, CPBE, DRB, CBNE - Tempe, AZ
  • James C. Wulliman, CPBE - Green Valley, AZ - Chairman Emeritus

The work of the Ennes trustees and committees is supported by three staff of the SBE, at no cost to the Trust.

SBE Staff Support

  • John L. Poray, CAE, executive director and treasurer of the Ennes Trust
  • Cathy Orosz, education director
  • Debbie Hennessey, executive assistant

Quick Links

facebook  twitter  youtube  linked in  linked in