›› Home ›› About

News & Headlines

SBE Officer, Director Candidates Announced for 2016

June 3, 2016

Each year the SBE membership elects members to serve on the national Board of Directors; the governing body of the society. This includes all four officers for one year terms and half of the 12 directors for two year terms. The slate of candidates assembled by the Nominations Committee includes:

Jerry Massey Jim Leifer
Tim Anderson Andrea Cummis

President - Jerry Massey, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNT - Chapter 86, Greenville, SC
Vice President - James Leifer, CPBE - Chapter 53, South Florida
Secretary - Tim Anderson, CPBE, DRB, CBNE - Chapter 33, Southwestern Ohio
Treasurer - Andrea Cummis, CBT, CTO - Chapter 15, New York, NY


(top six vote getters will be elected)
Jim Bernier, CPBE, CBNE - Chapter 5, Atlanta
Kirk Harnack, CBRE, CBNE - Chapter 103, Nashville, TN
Brian Oliger, CBT, CBNE - Chapter 37, District of Columbia
Jason Ornellas, CBRE, CRO - Chapter 43, Sacramento
Wayne Pecena, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNE- Chapter 99, Bryan, TX
Marcelo Sanchez, CPBE - Chapter 53, South Florida
Mark Simpson, CPBE, AMD, DRB, CBNE- Chapter 32, Tucson, AZ
Justin "JT" Tucker, CSRE, AMD, CBNE- Chapter 107, Charleston, SC

Additional candidates may be nominated by the membership. Any eligible member proposed by at least ten members to the national Secretary by July 12 will be added to the ballot. The election will take place July 25 through August 25. Balloting will be via the election website, except for those members who have opted out of electronic voting this year or who have not provided the SBE national office with their email address. They will receive their ballots through the mail.

The national SBE board includes 12 directors, four officers and the immediate past president. Directors serve two-year terms and officers serve one-year terms. Six director seats will be contested in 2016 as will all four officer positions. The SBE By-laws limits the number of terms of elected members of the board. Directors may serve three consecutive terms. The secretary and treasurer may serve up to four consecutive terms and the president and vice president may serve up to two consecutive terms. The maximum number of years anyone may serve on the board is ten. The time spent as immediate past president does not count towards the ten-year total.

Jim Bernier  Kirk Harnack  Brian Oliger  Jason Ornellas
Wayne Pecena  Marcelo Sanchez  Mark Simpson  JT Tucker

The election takes place from July 25 through Aug. 25. Candidates elected will be installed into office during the SBE National Meeting in Columbus, OH, on Oct. 27.

For more information about candidacy, please contact Ted Hand at thand@sbe.org or Executive Director, John Poray at jporay@sbe.org or 317-846-9000.

Go to the News and Headlines Archive

Quick Links

facebook  twitter  youtube  linked in  linked in