›› Home ›› About

SBE 2018 National Meeting

October 2-3, 2018

Doubletree by Hilton Boston North Shore Hotel, Danvers, MA

Mark RicherAwards Dinner Keynote Speaker: Mark S. Richer, ATSC

Mark S. Richer is the president of the Advanced Television Systems Committee, Inc. (ATSC). The ATSC is an international, non-profit organization developing voluntary standards for digital television including the ATSC 3.0 suite of standards for next generation television.

Richer first joined the ATSC after 16 years with the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) where, as vice president of engineering & computer services, he was responsible for development of new technologies for PBS and its member stations, design of audio/video systems, and management of information technology operations.

Richer was a recipient of the Broadcast & Cable Technology Leadership Award in 2007, the 2010 recipient of the National Association of Broadcasters Engineering Achievement Award for Television, and the 2018 EDGE Award for Excellence in Innovation from America’s Public Television Stations. He has been a member of the SBE for 23 years. He is a Fellow of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and serves on the FCC Technology Advisory Council.

The annual Society of Broadcast Engineers National Meeting will be held in Danvers, MA, on Oct. 2-3, 2018, in conjunction with the Media Resource Expo. Use the SBE registration code "MRESBE" to register free until Oct 2. SBE members from the region and across the country are invited to attend. The SBE national Meeting includes the SBE Annual Membership Meeting and annual SBE National Awards Reception and Dinner. Program details are below. Admission to the SBE National Meeting requires registration to the Media Resource Expo, which is free to SBE members. MRE Registration will open in July. Buy your Awards Dinner tickets now. (All times are Eastern Time.)



SBE Schedule

October 2

SBE Certification Committee Meeting

2:00 - 4:00 p.m.

SBE Board of Directors Dinner

5:00 - 6:00 p.m.

SBE Board of Directors Meeting

6:00 - 10:00 p.m.


October 3

SBE Fellows Breakfast
8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.
Sponsored by Kathrein

Media Resource Expo Trade Show

10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Use the SBE registration code "MRESBE" before Aug. 31 to register for free.

SBE Booth
Sponsored by Technical Broadcast Solutions

Technical Broadcast Solutions

SBE Annual Membership Meeting

3:30 - 4:30 p.m.

The meeting will be streamed live online.

Including a Q&A with SBE President Jim Leifer and Mark Richer of the ATSC.

Sponsored by Blackmagic Design, Dielectric, Drake Lighting, DVEO, IMT Vislink, Lawo and Technical Broadcast Solutions.

Blackmagic Design
Dranke Lighting
DVEO Broadcast
IMT Vislink
Technical Broadcast Solutions


SBE National Awards Reception
5:00 - 6:00 p.m.

Sponsored by Comrex

Comrex logo


SBE National Awards Dinner
6:00 - 8:00 p.m.

Sponsored by The Telos Alliance

The Telos Alliance is providing a $250 Amazon gift card as a door prize during dinner

Telos Alliance

Registration for the SBE Awards Reception and Dinner.



Reserve a room at the Doubletree by Hilton North Shore. Call 978-777-2500 and ask for the Society of Broadcast Engineers discount, or reserve a room online.

Quick Links

facebook  twitter  youtube  linked in  linked in